· 

Genesis Ritchot - If You Cared

Independent singer-songwriter Genesis Ritchot, based in Quebec, Canada, released his single

If You Cared last Friday.

 

I got to hear the song in advance a while back and was really looking forward to the release.

If You Cared is about the sad and painful realization of having lost the bond of togetherness and that you are simply not as important to someone as that person is to you.

A broken friendship that creates the feeling and pain of abandonment and leaves a sense of emptiness inside of you.

 

It doesn't have to be a failed love affair, even the end of a friendship can cause this pain. 

Genesis is so incredibly sensitive and masterfully understands how to transform these feelings, entrusted to him by an old friend, into poetry and create from it another gem. 

A wonderful intro with synthesizers and acoustic guitar pours into a sequence of beautiful harmonies. His falsetto makes the song very special, it feels like a voice deep inside you comforting and embracing you. 

 

If You Cared - definitely a song with hit potential - absolutely outstanding and very catchy! 

You will love it.

I had the opportunity to talk to Genesis several times and would like to quote him at this point.

quote:

 

"We all live this sad situation at one point or another in our lives....

People come and go :/"

 

"We got to stay positive for the new beautiful people that come in our way :)"

 

"... as for the writing, it's my way to express how I feel.

I can't really explain it"

 

Everyone will face with a situation like this at some point in their life, and it's so good that there are such wonderful musicians like Genesis, who tread these paths of comfort with their songs and take us with them.

 

Genesis has become a very good friend to me, I value him very much as a wonderful human being and his friendship means a lot to me.

Here are the lyrics again for you: 

 

If You Cared

 

Oh my friend you weren't there

when I called

I'm counting the miles you

could've walked to come home

 

You did it as a kid why not now?

And surely if you cared you'd be

there

 

It's not what you've done, but

what you didn't do

You can't let the garden dry and

expect it to bloom

 

This harvest is at risk

And surely if you cared you'd be

there

 

It's not time, nor the distance, it's

my position on your list

It's not time, nor the distance, it's

my position on your list

It's not time, nor the distance, it's

my position on your list

It's not time, nor the distance, it's

my position on your list  

 

Oh my friend you weren't there

when I called

I'm counting the miles you

could've walked to come home

I hope you will connect with If You Cared as much as I do ❤️

Follow Genesis on his social media.



Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0